Home > SharePoint2013Preview, Workflow > How to fix “The requested service, ‘net.pipe://localhost/SecurityTokenServiceApplication/appsts.svc’ could not be activated.”

How to fix “The requested service, ‘net.pipe://localhost/SecurityTokenServiceApplication/appsts.svc’ could not be activated.”

Problem:

When I try to publish a SharePoint2013 workflow, I received the error:

The requested service, ‘net.pipe://localhost/SecurityTokenServiceApplication/appsts.svc’ could not be activated.

After that, my workflow stopped working and every time I start a work I receive the following error message:


System.ApplicationException: PreconditionFailed ---> System.ApplicationException: Error in the application. --- End of inner exception stack trace --- at System.Activities.Statements.Throw.Execute(CodeActivityContext context) at System.Activities.CodeActivity.InternalExecute(ActivityInstance instance, ActivityExecutor executor, BookmarkManager bookmarkManager) at System.Activities.Runtime.ActivityExecutor.ExecuteActivityWorkItem.ExecuteBody(ActivityExecutor executor, BookmarkManager bookmarkManager, Location resultLocation)

Analysis:

After analysis, I found the error by visiting the http://localhost:32843/SecurityTokenServiceApplication/securitytoken.svc and the error I got on the message is                                                                                                                                             

Solution:

The solution is basically getting more memory to the server. For development environment, you can restart your noderunner.exe or some other services to release some memories. To verify you have enough memory    you can browse to http://localhost:32843/SecurityTokenServiceApplication/securitytoken.svc , it should return the information below. Then you can republish your workflow and it will work like a charm.

                                                    


  1. Adrian
    January 25, 2013 at 11:53 pm

    Thank you for sharing this! It helped me a lot, since I ran into the same issue as you did. Same error when publishing the SP2013 workflow. Weird enough, I did not have the error when browsing the security Token Service, this displayed correctly for me as in your second screen. Hovewer, workflows were not published, I got the error u describe in the beginnig of the post. I checked memory consumption and saw it was high, and after freeing some, I was able to publish the Workflows without a problem. Sooo, kudos to you, mate!

    • ybbest
      January 25, 2013 at 11:58 pm

      Glad it helps.

  2. April 24, 2013 at 3:22 am

    Thanx, man. It’s helped me to!

  3. May 25, 2013 at 2:38 am

    I’m getting an issue when I publish a simple custom workflow via SP Designer:
    There was no endpoint listening at net.pipe://localhost/SecurityTokenServiceApplication/appsts.svc that could accept the message.

    I am able to browse to http://localhost:32843/SecurityTokenServiceApplication/securitytoken.svc with no issues or errors showing.

    Any ideas? I have installed WF manager on a WFE server in a 3 tier setup.

    • Pablos
      June 15, 2014 at 5:54 am

      I have the same problem. any solution?

  4. Vishal B
    March 25, 2014 at 3:46 am

    Thank-you. you saved my day 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

