Home > My Handy References, SharePoint 2010, SSRS > How to fix “Not able to deploy report to SharePoint 2010 in integrated mode”

How to fix “Not able to deploy report to SharePoint 2010 in integrated mode”

I am running SharePoint 2010 Enterprise with SQL2008R2 in the same server as my development environment. I have installed the reporting services R2 add-on to the SharePoint server. I have configured reporting services on the central admin properly. I can browse to the report server fine too. The problem I have is that when I try to deploy my report developed in visual studio2008 I get a pop up for credentials and no matter what I try for the user name and password, the pop up keeps coming back up and nothing happens as shown below

My environment looked something like this:

SharePoint site for reports: http://win-oirj50igics/

Reporting Service Integrated Mode URL: http://win-oirj50igics:80/ReportServer

The report deployment properties are as shown below:

After asking this question in MSDN and SharePoint Overflow and thanks for infotekka, I finally got the solution for it. The following are posted by infotekka from SharePoint Overflow and I keep it here for my own references as I have not found an explanation for this issue anywhere.

So after searching through the logs I determined that when I was trying to deploy my reports Visual Studio was seeing that the hostname I was using was part of the reserved hostname of the report server (win-oirj50igics), and so it was treating the path /Reports not as a SharePoint site but rather a subdirectory in a native mode Report Server implementation (since we never actually have a way of telling Visual Studio that we are deploying to SharePoint or native mode it tries to detect on its own). The reason why we get the constant requests for authentication is because since Visual Studio believes we are trying to connect to a native mode instance it tries to find the web service at http://hostname/reportservice2010.asmx (if you’re using SQL R2). SharePoint out-of-the-box does not allow for asmx files to be downloaded, and so it returns an access denied error, which in turn causes Visual Studio to prompt for better credentials.

In order to resolve this mess I added an alternate access mapping to my SharePoint site, http://www. win-oirj50igics.com and used that URL in Visual Studio to connect to my SharePoint reporting site and viola, it worked! Since I used an AAM that was different from the reserved URL for reporting services, Visual Studio did not assume that I was connecting to a native mode instance and instead looked _vti_bin/ReportServer for the files it needed to upload the reports.

So, after that long winded explanation the bottom line is that it will fail if you are using the same URL for your reporting services integration and your SharePoint site, so add a new URL to your SharePoint site by either adding a new name in your Alternate Access Mappings or extending the Web App onto a whole new IIS site.

  1. Christopher Florian
    November 11, 2011 at 6:13 am

    Correct me if Im wrong, but the above is being run on a single server? I have the same problem, but am running SP 2010 STD. with the WFE on one server, and the Sql on a second server (running Reporting Services, BIDS and hosting the SP Databases).
    Would your fix have any impact on this? If so, can you explain?

  2. Manoj
    July 4, 2012 at 11:39 pm

    This happens if Anonymous is On for the web application. Turn it off from Central Admin site for this web application and try deploying again using BIDS. I got rid of this issue this way, hope it works for you.

  3. Michelle
    September 13, 2012 at 5:26 am

    Thanks Manoj, that works for me!!!! You save me a lot of time!

  4. Prakash
    February 18, 2014 at 6:19 am

    Hello, i have a host header and i am getting same error. my host header is http://myreports. what entry should i put on AAM?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

