Home > SharePoint 2010 > Cannot save all of the property settings for this Web Part.

Cannot save all of the property settings for this Web Part.

I would like to display all the items of custom content type of Animals in a SharePoint content query WebPart. After choosing the appropriate values in the web part editor and click on Save I got this error:

Cannot save all of the property settings for this Web Part. There is a problem with one or more of the field values below.


But when I examine all the values below , it does not flag any error information. I finally manage to locate the error flag after I expand the presentation section. I then delete the text in the Link textbox , now I can save the settings. However , I think the error message should have been more specific so that users can quickly locate the error. The worst part for this is that I did not even change anything in the presentation section, I merely configure the Source in the Query section. Well, I guess I am still new to SharePoint, I just have to get used to these generic error message ):

 

Categories: SharePoint 2010
  1. ritesh
    October 27, 2010 at 6:41 am

    leave Link field blank

    • ybbest
      October 27, 2010 at 10:28 pm

      Yes,I know.But I expect the default to be blank not URL PATH;

    • March 29, 2013 at 1:46 am

      Thanks for the post, I wasted whole day for this.The error message is misleading

  2. AC
    June 17, 2011 at 1:48 pm

    thanks 🙂 was just cursing and swearing over this myself. Didn’t dream it would be anything that dumb!

  3. Hima
    June 26, 2012 at 4:07 am

    Thanks so much. This saved me time when I wasn’t sure about the error inspite of repeating the steps again and again.

  4. Salim
    January 28, 2013 at 4:08 am

    Thankx a lot…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

